December Young Birder of the Month: Oliver B.

dsc_7057-large

Age: 13  

Hometown: Carpentersville, IL (main) / New Lisbon, WI (cabin)

How long have you been birding, and what got you started?

I have been seriously birding for about two years but I have been interested in birds for much longer.

A flock of Ducks (probably Ring-necked or Bufflehead) at our cabin back in 2013 was the first time I tried hard to identify a bird.

Why did you choose to join the Wisconsin Young Birders Club?

I saw it on the ABA website and thought it would help me with birding near our cabin (New Lisbon, WI).

Where do you see yourself as a birdwatcher in 10 years?

I see myself traveling around the world trying to see the most birds possible and as a avian field technician for my job.

Tell us an interesting/funny birding story from your experience in Wisconsin or elsewhere.

We were going to walk our dog and as I am walking down our driveway, I spot a Warbler about 7 feet up in a tree about 15 feet away. I walked closer till I was only about 5 feet from the bird. I got my binoculars on it and realized that it was one of the most rare birds I had ever seen. It was a Kirtland’s Warbler! The bird stayed for almost a minute with me at that distance allowing me to study the it very well.

 

kirtlands-warbler
Kirtland’s Warbler

What advice would you give to a novice young birder?

Keep birding. Know that even the most experienced birders make mistakes and age is not a barrier.

Why is birding important to you?

Birding is important to me because

1 – I have made many friends through birding.

2 – It is the only hobby/activity that I have ever had that I can do anytime and anywhere.

And 3 – It gets me outdoors.

You can check out Oliver’s fledgling Illinois bird club, the Whimbrel Bird Club, here: https://whimbrelbirders.org/

Thank you Oliver! 

Leave a Reply

